Observatory of the Quotidian
 
I have a Canon Powershot SD1000.  It's a decent little camera, and I like it.  My only real complaint is that I have some trouble getting it to focus where and how I want—time to whip out the manual!—except in Macro, which is without a doubt my favorite thing about this camera.  The Digital Macro setting is unfailingly fun to work with.  Last week's photos from my almost-daily rambles are a case in point:
Picture
I LOVE this photo!
Picture
Yes, we really did kick the soccer ball on the shoveled driveway.
Picture

On Sunday a photographer friend and I made an expedition to the park.  It felt so good to be out in the woods.  It gives me a sense of having room to breathe...
Picture
Picture
Picture
A rusty barrel sat on a wooden walkway, punctured with holes, its presence a mystery.
Picture
This is one of my few pictures of snow I am happy with. Why is it so hard to photograph well, I wonder?

I promised you an abstraction, didn't I? : )  After my friend I were driven out of the woods by the cold, we stopped by some snazzy glass buildings to catch the sunset.  Voilà:
Picture

...EDITH

1/28/2011 04:17:37 am

I love the last picture--it's so colorful!

Reply
1/28/2011 07:08:24 am

Good work! I particularly like the lone leaf dangling from its branch. Yes, capturing snow is often problematic, especially if shooting toward the sun. I did a fair bit of photoshopping on the image of you walking on water, because it was underexposed. I had to tinker with brightness and contrast for starters and then added a magenta filter to get a decent white balance. There may be more efficient ways to do it, but experimenting can work minor miracles sometimes... and sometimes not. By the way, most of what I shot is no more. It was a lovely afternoon. My fingers have thawed at last!

Reply
1/28/2011 12:27:46 pm

I love the leaf one at the park - it does feel very free and "airy."
Macro is my favorite as well. :)

Love,
~Melody

Reply
1/28/2011 10:24:52 pm

Thanks all! Apparently the paper-thin leaves are a hit. : ) I thought it was a lovely afternoon too, Ann. (The photo she is referring to of me "walking on water" is of a foray onto a frozen pond. Very cool ice... no pun intended. ; )

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.